30 Days Hath September 2016 | Day 30 | Shapeshifter by Tammy Gomez

September 30, 2016

BEI 30 Days Proposed Graphic

Shapeshifter

 

How did you squeeze yourself

through the bathroom window,

to escape from him?

You must be a shapeshifter.

That’s what I told her.

 

She shrugged and said, I didn’t think about it.

Physics is not my subject.  I just jumped

from the bathtub up onto the window sill,

shoving the window open with my shoulder.

Look how it scraped my skin.

 

Do you think that he wants you

to be small, all the time?

 

I think he wants me to shape shift, he

is the one who tries to make me

whatever he needs at the moment.

Be a cook: cook.  Be a maid: clean.

Be a puta:  suck or fuck.

 

You are the one to decide

when you want to shape shift,

I insist.  Why don’t you

become something huge

that can’t be defeated?

 

A big bad-ass Statue of Liberty,

she smiles.

That’ll work.

 

 

 

by Tammy Melody Gomez

 

Tammy Gomez is an activist, performance artist, and writer whose work is published in collections including Women in Nature (2014), and Entre Guadalupe y Malinche: Tejanas in Literature and Art (UT Press, 2016).  She is profiled in Las Tejanas: 300 Years of History (UT Press, 2003), and was honored by Goucher College (Maryland) with the “Alumnae/i Award for Excellence in Public Service” in 2010. She is a fellow of the Black Earth Institute

Leave a Reply

