30 Days Hath September 2016 | Day 19 | Epilogue by John Casquerelli

September 19, 2016

BEI 30 Days Proposed GraphicEpilogue

by John Casquarelli

 

Our conversation didn’t amount to

A tremendous spark of promise.

We never flew with bees in their

Ceremonial buzz. Even so, I like

 

To think of this as a progression,

But sometimes I get so caught up

With my parade of thoughts and

Confusions that distance is all I feel.

 

And, believe me, there is no distance

So great as being away from the

People you love or obsess over.

I know that sounds like something

 

I read from a fortune cookie, which

Is not really a fortune, but is likely

What you would find in a cheap

Cookie. Though, I never find messages

 

In chocolate chip or oatmeal cookies.

That’s probably why I like them so

Much. No letdowns when you dare to

Dream amid the kaleidoscope of colors

 

In the passing seasons, when reoccurring

Memories merge with after dinner wines

And sarcastic laughter on the comfort of

An ocean blue sofa in a pre-war brownstone.

 

One reoccurring memory that I have is of

A little homeless girl, no older than five

Or six, playing with a Cracker Jack

Marble toy, while leaning on her father’s

 

Left arm. His back was resting on a red

Brick wall and he was sound asleep.

The woman next to him, which I assumed

Was his wife and the mother of the

 

Little girl, was also asleep, resting on the

Man’s right arm and shoulder. The little

Girl briefly broke her playful concentration

From her toy long enough to make eye contact

 

With me, but after a few seconds realized

That moving with the marbles in a series of

Circles, twists, and blocked interruptions

Would be far more rewarding than my

 

Brown middle-aged eyes. I dropped a few

Bills in a cup that was nestled between

The father’s legs and walked away,

Seeking a notebook to scribble a few lines

 

That would influence no significant change

In anyone’s life but my own. Maybe I was

Just hoping to make up some of the miles in

These potholed, dirt-riddled distances.

 

 

John Casquarelli is the author of two full-length collections: On Equilibrium of Song (Overpass Books, 2011) and Lavender (Authorspress, 2014). He was awarded the 2016 Kafka Residency Prize in Hostka, Czech Republic, and a 2017 residency at the Writer’s Room of The Betsy Hotel on South Beach. His poems have appeared in numerous journals and anthologies.

Leave a Reply

