30 Days Hath September 2016 | Day 10 | Presidents are Old by Thomas Devaney

September 10, 2016

BEI 30 Days Proposed Graphic

Presidents are Old

I don’t want a President, or the stopwatch function
with those numbers faster than seconds, minutes
pushing minutes even faster.
Everywhere in the world, flashing away,
the Dark and the Light all at once.
Don’t you know who I think that I am? I yelled,
pushing back against Daytime, the Vice President,
Pres. pro tempore of the Senate, and the Midnight world?
My hands were all but still and my feet mostly stayed put,
like magic, or death, or a face flickering—young/middle
aged/or a little older depending on when you saw it.
A history that came into focus in a parsec,
and one where I had told myself to go to hell,
from there you can go anywhere,
great crasser freedoms, infinite camouflage.
Just make me look good, I heard myself say.

 

Thomas Devaney is a poet. He lives in Philadelphia. His most recent books are Runaway Goat Cart (Hanging Loose Press, 2015) and Calamity Jane (Furniture Press, 2014).

 

Leave a Reply

